Granvat - Book of Air - Singel-227

Book of air: VVOLK

Project of Stijn Cools

The music of vvolk is played by a group of 18 improvisers with roots in jazz and classical music. The group investigates performing and improvising music, in close relation to present time; what are the possibilities in playing music, when changes in this music pass by unnoticed? How do we as musicians relate to the running time of a performance? How does our hearing and memory react to these slow changes? As a result vvolk let’s you experience music which is less perceived in the present time, but rather occurs in our memory of the past. This clearly challenges the improvising musicians, and makes audience and performers discover new territories in collective improvisation.

“As a listener you experience one sound, one cloud, one texture, with slow moving details within. While getting deeper in the sound of vvolk, the perception of time fades. It is astonishing how improvised music can create such a timeless, and calming experience for the listener. This timelessness clearly has an effect on the physical body. After a concert of ‘vvolk’ you will leave with an altered body state.”

Book of air: VVOLK are:

Stijn Cools: drums & composition
Sep François: vibraphone & percussion
Hendrik Vanattenhoven: double bass
Nathan Wouters: double bass
Laurens Smet: double bass & electric bass
Bert Cools: electric and acoustic guitars
Ruben Machtelinckx: electric bariton guitar
Benjamin Sauzereau:  electric guitar
Niels Van Heertum: euphonium
Viktor  Perdieus: tenor saxophone
Thomas Jillings: tenor saxophone
Erik Bogaerts: alto saxophone and clarinet
Frans van Isacker: alto saxophone and clarinet
Mathieu Robert: soprano saxophone
Stefan Bracaval: flute
Indre Jurgeleviciuté: kankles
Fruz Tonteling: harmonium
Wout Gooris: rhodes